The internet has now been out for 3
days. On to other news, though. Today a group of us decided to go on
a hike down into a gorge. It was amazing and incredibly beautiful. We
parked up by a monastery and walked down into it. There was a
perfectly clear river/creek running through. As we walked up-stream
we crossed parts of the creek. Unfortunately, while crossing one I
lost my balance, fell in and got some nice gashes in my legs (they
are cleaned up now and I had bandaids so I didn't bleed out or
anything). That would not have been that bad if I hadn't been taking
pictures just before crossing. Yeah, I had my camera around my neck
and it got nice and wet. I just about cried and I still might. It was
off and the sun shield took the most of the impact so that should
help. We took as much of it apart as we could right away and dried
off what we could but the lens still has two small drops of water in
it and I haven't tried to turn it on yet. Right now, it is sitting on
the table downstairs in a container of rice which should dry things
out but even if it does dry out it is hard to know if it will work.
At this point all I can do is wait and hope. I will probably check on
it tomorrow evening and if it still wet (I'm probably screwed) I will
be taking the camera and the rice in a bag to the dolomites with us.
God, please let it be ok.
Later, when I picked up my computer and
I heard something moving around in my computer my heart just dropped.
The computer still worked but odd noise is not usually good. So, I
took off the back and moved the computer back and forth to see what
was moving. That was when I saw a 5 cent South African coin in the CD
drive. It ended up coming right out and now I can play DVDs again! I
guess this means I'm batting a .500 with electronics today. Not a
great number but could be worse...I guess. I will keep you updated as
much as possible on the camera front. Hopefully there will be no
break downs tomorrow....
Sept. 8- I tried my camera and I think
it is done for. Today a group of people are going into town to get
internet so hopefully I can get a ride and go get a relatively cheap
camera. That way if my camera really just needs more time to dry then
it can have as much time as it wants and I won't be out a huge chunk
of change. If it is completely dead then I will at least have
something to take photos with, even if they won't be quite as good.
-later- Well, I am down 140 euros but I have something to take photos
with and I guess that is worth it. It is your basic point and shoot.
I could have bought a AA powered camera for less but those are a pain
in the butt and there was a different rechargeable for 30 less but I
could tell that the quality of the photo was not as good and if I am
going to buy a camera in Italy there is no way I am buying a bright
pink camera. In case you want to know exactly what I bought it is a
panasonic lumix dmc-fs28. I have no idea how good it is but since I
have had no internet I will have no idea until I mess around with it.
My knee really hurts from the fall, a mix of bruises and
cuts/scrapes. In fact it is kinda throbing just as I am laying here.
It has been cleaned and treated so it should be ok.
On to a happier subject, we went to a
concert tonight that was put on by the kids who practice here. The
quote of the night was “Do you realize that we are in Italy,
listening to a Green Day cover band (who was amazingly good
considering that they were 15), hanging out with the guy who
discovered how the dinos died, drinking free beer, and are doing all
of this while wearing handlebar mustaches?” (did I mention that the
guys are all growing or trying to grow handlebars like our main
leader Sandro?) It was pretty darn cool. After about an hour, the
first band finished and I was getting really cold but we thought we
should stay to support the other band to after a few of there songs
about half of us left. I left mainly because I was cold but also
because we leave for the dolomites tomorrow (there should be
internet) and my roommate and I need to pack. On these big trips we
try to pack together so that there are few bags in the back of the
vans. She decided to stay at the concert which works out because then
I can pack and she can pack her stuff on top. Last time we put three
people's worth of clothing but since we are camping this time we need
more things, like sleeping bags, so we probably could not fit three
sleeping bags plus clothes in my bag.
PS- The first packer game is
tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!
Sept. 9- Today was a crazy long car
ride. We left OGC at 9am and arrived at the campground around 5:30.
We spent probably about an hour outside of the car during the whole
ride and that was bathroom breaks and a lunch break. It was a pretty
uneventful ride except for a huge backup on the autostrada due to a
car crash. Once we got of the highway I felt like we had been
transported to the german side of Switzerland. It is truly amazing.
There are mountains all around us and all of the buildings have
flowers spilling over the balconies and they all are in the same
“german” style. On our way up to the campground we passed by a
bunch of apple orchards (we did stop and get some). The apple trees
were really bizarre looking. The trees looked more like vines because
there was more fruit than tree. They were just super skinny and were
growing like the grape vines (so growing more 2D than 3D). They were
also only 4ft tall. Dinner was awesome and it was served restaurant
style rather than family style which was great for portion control
because they were actual human sized servings. We are sleeping in
tents this week so hopefully it doesn't get too cold.
Sept. 10- I slept maybe 2 hours last
night. It was terrible. Luckily, I was able to sleep in the car for a
little while on the way to our hike. The hike was really nice and
there was an awesome St. Bernard at the place where we stopped for
lunch. I realized how high we were during our hike too. The only part
that sucked was that I felt really horrible for most of the hike. Do
you realize how hard it is to find a place to go to the bathroom
above the tree line? Yeah, really hard. We walked through town after
class and had another great dinner. Well I am super tired so
hopefully I will sleep well tonight. We are going to go see a glacier
tomorrow!
Sept. 11- I can not believe that 11
years have gone by since that fateful day. Today we went to the
glacier and it was awesome. We took a “gondola” up. The cars were
basically a two person metal basket and were slightly sketchy but it
was great. When we got to the top (about 2400m) we climbed up a
little higher and had class. We talked about the mountain and its
glacier. We then were let go to explore and go up to the glacier. It
was incredibly fun because as I was going up I could see all of the
fossils that were left from back when the mountain was a coral reef.
Once we all gathered back up we had another learning session where
we talked about global temperature fluctuations, how they impact the
ice and what we can tell about the ice that is no longer there. This
was probably the most fun days of class so far. When we got back to
camp we had our yoga session and dinner. I am hoping to post this
when we get back to OGC because I don't really want to pay for more
internet.
Sept. 12- Okay, I feel as though I
should explain our camping situation. This campground is nothing like
the campgrounds in the states. Yes, we are sleeping in tents and yes
they are on the ground but that is about where the similarities end.
There is a very clean heated bathroom with, wait for it, bidets and a
salon style area to dry your hair. Not only that but this place has
a spa and an indoor pool. Apparently this is pretty normal for
Italian campgrounds. I feel like if an Italian decided that they
wanted to go camping in the states they would get there and be like
“What the hell is this?”. Yeah, this is barely camping. Today we
went out into the field to look at the stratigraphy (layers of rocks
in a certain area) in a creek bed. As we were just finishing up it
started to rain and rain hard. So we ran back up to a restaurant and
had lunch and some hot chocolate. That was when it really started to
pour and, of course, that was when we had to head out because the
restaurant was filling up. So, we ran back to the cars, getting
soaked along the way. We headed back to the campsite where we pretty
much grabbed things to entertain ourselves and sat in the internet
room and tried to dry off and warm up. We then had a little more
class and did all of our usual nightly activities (eating,
basically).
Sept. 13- It snowed last night! Luckily
a group of us were able to sleep on the floor in our professor's
hotel room so we stayed nice and warm. It was so beautiful when we
woke up, though, because the surrounding mountains were covered in
snow. The snow is even below the tree line in many places. Today was
our drive back with a stop at a dam on the way. We had a 3 hour tour
there. It was the site of a horrific landslide event that killed over
1500 people. They built this dam that was huge and the reservoir
behind it held 168 million cubic meters of water. When they started
to refill the reservoir they noticed that there was some movement in
the mountain on the one side. They kept an eye on it but continued to
fill it. There was then a “small” landslide where 750 thousand
cubic meters of material fell. It wasn't too big of a deal so they
kept an eye on the rest of the mountain. They then realized that as
the water level was getting higher the side of the mountain was
moving faster. Now, at this point I'm thinking “why the hell
wouldn't you stop filling the reservoir?” but of course they were
thinking otherwise. Supposedly the idea was to make a controlled
landslide happen. It always happens this way doesn't it? Just as the
reservoir was filled and they were thinking that they were out of the
woods 280 MILLION cubic meters of material fell off the side of this
mountain in a solid block at 80-90 km an hour. The resulting wave
went 170 meters over the dam and down into the surrounding valley.
Apparently, even though the rock walls surrounding the reservoir were
weak this was still a perfect spot for a dam. If the walls were
stable I would agree because there are three lakes at high altitudes
that feed into the dam so the water pressure is incredible. However,
because this place had such sucky geology for building a dam the dam
should never have gotten past the first inspection of the area. If
you can't tell, I feel pretty strongly about this. On the way back,
when we were about an hour away from home, the windshield wipers
shorted out. It was raining pretty good so we stopped at a mechanic
(who was technically closed). The only person who was still there was
the front desk person. He knew about cars but when he looked at the
problem he had no idea how to fix it. Luckily, Anderson has some ¼
inch rope in his bag because we ended up tying the rope to the
wipers. We basically pulled those wipers across the windshield for an
hour and a half. It work amazingly well and I got my shoulder work
out in (How's your canoe workout dad? :) ). We got back and unpacked
everything so that things could dry.
PS. MY CAMERA WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sept. 14- I woke up to torrents of rain
outside my window. Everything that we were trying to dry is inside so
it is still “dry” (meaning drier than it would be). Our roof is
leaking slightly so I put some bowls under the leaks so, hopefully,
things won't get too wet. The leak is just between our beds so
nothing but the floor and the top of the night stand are getting wet
but I don't really want a stream of water in our room. So I am trying to write my paper and the internet people are working on the internet and what happens? The internet starts working again!
No comments:
Post a Comment